2021 Project of the Year Award Application

2021 Project of the Year Award Application

November 4, 2020

The Michigan Chapter of APWA is now accepting award applications for the 2020 Public Works Project of the Year Awards competition.  This prestigious award program gives Michigan communities an opportunity to highlight and celebrate their achievements in many facets of public works:

  • Disaster or Emergency Construction/Repair
  • Environment
  • Governmental Cooperation
  • Historical Restoration/Preservation
  • Quality of Life
  • Structures
  • Transportation

The nomination form and project submittals are due by January 15, 2021, midnight EST.  Eligibility requirements, application details, and category descriptions are listed on the nomination form.  Electronic submittals will be accepted at https://dbinbox.com/michiganapwa, no hard copies will be accepted.

Winning projects will be recognized at our annual state chapter conference banquet to be held the week of May 27, 2021 at the Grand Traverse Resort in Traverse City, MI.  Additionally, the Michigan Chapter will display winning project information on our homepage (http://michigan.apwa.net/), will highlight the project winners in the Great Lakes Reporter, our quarterly chapter magazine, and will help in publicizing the community’s award by various means including press releases and public meeting award presentations. In the event that the State Conference is not held in person, an alternate means of recognition will be announced.

The winning projects will be nominated to the National APWA Awards Program, if in an eligible category.  Project submittals are due to APWA National by March 1, 2021.  The national winners will be named and recognized at the 2021 PWX in St Louis on August 29 - Sept 1, 2021. Visit APWA National Website for more details (http://www.apwa.net/).


Karen Mondora, PE

APWA Michigan Chapter Awards Chairperson